Monday, September 01, 2008

2008 Lady Indians - 3rd in district advancing into the playoffs to the Area Round.

Picture by Sunshine Peacock
Head Coach: Troy Humphrey
Assistant Coach: Amber Tate Branson*

The 2007-08 Lady Indians finished third in the competitive district 17. Their district record was 6-4 behind Strawn and Gordon. For the season the girls' were 14-17 reflective of a tough pre-district schedule.
2007-08 girls schedule and results.

Of special note was that the roster had no senior experience to draw on. Coach Humphrey was joined this season by Amber Tate Branson as assistant varsity coach. Amber was a Lipan all-state player from the 90's who went on to play college ball.

The TABC named Meranda Gaston to the All-Region team. In district 17 she was named 1st team. On the 2nd team was named Chrissie Bingham, and named honorable mention was Kendra Massie and Shayla Wright. Named to the Academic All-District team were Chrissie Bingham, Nikki Kirkpatrick, Kendra Massie, Lauren Rice, Cea Jaye Winn.
*Named head coach April 2008.

For current Lipan Indian Basketball Click here!

2008 Boys - District, Area & Regional Quarterfinals Champions.

Photo by Nanci Holtsford

Head coach: Cody Chandler
Assistant coach: Drew Howard

The 2007-08 Lipan Indians had another championship season with a record of 27-8. In Coach Chandler's second season, they were again 10-0 in district. A special historical note is made of the fact that all 8 competitive losses were to highly ranked teams with 6 being to Class 2A programs, 5 of which ended the season in the TABC top 20. Being able to play such quality teams was the product of Lipan's tradition of successful basketball programs.

For the 7th consecutive year, 10th in the last 11 years, Lipan's boys played in the Region 3 Tournament hosted in Nacogdoches by Stephen F. Austin University. In the last 18 years, the Indians have won 16 district championships and 2 as runner-up. For the 13th consecutive year the Indians reached the 3rd round of the playoffs, and it was their 16th in 17 years.

Until the regional semifinals loss to Avinger High School, Lipan was ranked 3rd statewide by the Texas Association of Basketball Coaches. The TABC ranked them 8th in the post state tournament list. Laneville defeated Avinger for the regional championship to go on to win the Texas Class A Division II state championship in Austin.

The TABC chose Cory Williams (sr), Kyle Stephens (sr) and Seth Riddle (jr) to the All-Region team for the 2nd year in a row. Kyle Stephens and Seth Riddle were named to the 20 member All-State team in Class A DII.
District 17 honors: Co-MVPs - Kyle Stephens (sr), Seth Riddle (jr); Defensive Player of the Year - Ross Addison (sr); 1st Team - Cory Williams (sr), Ryan Drake (soph); 2nd Team - Lane Hedeman (jr); Honorable Mention - Chris Pitman (soph); Coach of the Year - Cody Chandler (2nd yr running).
Coach Chandler's win/loss record after 4 seasons was 92-37. His 2 season Lipan record was 52-17. Coach Chandler was an All-State player on Lipan's 1994 state championship team. Joining him for the 07-08 season was assistant Drew Howard in his first year of high school and junior high coaching. Drew, an All-State player himself, was the leading point producer on Lipan's 2003 state runner-up team.